Is Mayor Cicilline Joining Obama?

Yesterday I heard something interesting.  Rumor has it Providence Mayor David Cicilline will not be running for Governor of Rhode Island in 2010.  Mayor Cicilline is actually in talks with the Obama transition team about joining the next president’s administration.  I do not know what position the mayor has been offered.

It is interesting to note that President-elect Obama has recently banned discrimination in his transition teamfor sexual orientation and gender expression, and is expected to continue this policy into his term (hopefully terms) as president.

I overheard this yesterday, and I don’t know how this will effect me or my film.  On one hand I am happy about Obama’s policy.  I have personally faced discrimination when buying a house with my partner.  Laws and policy are a good place to start so people can’t get away with any kind of  bias or “isms”.    On the other hand, I couldn’t get the film played in few places in Rhode Island because people are afraid of retribution of the City.  Now, the Mayor is going to be in national politics.   I can’t wait to see what position he gets offered.

2 responses to “Is Mayor Cicilline Joining Obama?

  1. Sounds to me like a rumor the Mayor started himself.He has to raise his profile somewhere other than RI,where he’s dead in the water.Yet,I don’t doubt that he’s looking for something in Washington ,but if there’s a vetting procedure for any job he’s applying for in the Obama administration,he’ll never survive it, and not for the reasons we’ve already heard.

  2. yeah. i like him, but he has too many compromising things to survive washington.

Leave a Reply

