Just one day until the big screen

Columbus Theatre MarqueI have had so much to blog about, but no time.  I also wanted to leave the last blog up so as many people could see it as possible.   I am a mixture of excited and nervous for tomorrow night.  It is not easy to put yourself  in front of so many people, to work on something for more than three years and put it out there for the world to see.

I did a showing at AS220 on Memorial Day weekend for about 40 people, and the response was great.  It was part of the Open Eye Film Series, and Donna Hughes was there.  We both debated our viewpoints on the situation in Providence, and then Donna Hughes sent out a letter to her listserv starting rumors about me.  “Hurley has been showing her film in sex industry venues (not human rights film festivals). ” This is just one of the many rumors that were started, and almost the funniest because Dr. Hughes saw the film as part of the Open Eye Film Series at AS220, part of a series of films that document social issues in Rhode Island.  But leave it to Dr. Hughes to make stuff up.

What is really surprising to me is when I started this film I had just been rejected from Grad school for Gender and Ethnic Studies.  In June of 2005 I was actually already taking classes towards the degree, I just had not applied.  I thought I wanted to be a professor, actually a woman studies professor like Dr. Hughes.  Wow, am I glad I got rejected.  Sometimes when a door closes it is in your best interest.  I know that it was in my case.

3 responses to “Just one day until the big screen

  1. Good luck tomorrow! If I lived *slightly* closer, I’d go (CO is a far trip)…

  2. We both debated our viewpoints on the situation in Providence, and then Donna Hughes sent out a letter to her listserv starting rumors about me. “Hurley has been showing her film in sex industry venues (not human rights film festivals). ”

    So proud that CineKink had the opportunity to showcase ‘Happy Endings?’ at this year’s festival. Celebrating and exploring the wide diversity of sexuality, we feel that sexual freedom–the ability for consenting adults to make choices about their own activities–IS a fundamental human right.

    Congrats on your screenings this weekend!

  3. Thanks Lisa for adding your comment. I am happy you gave me the opportunity to screen the film in NY. We both believe in freedom, and that women have free will. Dr. Hughes does not believe that women have free will, sad isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

